Kimi Ora Eco Resort

Ive just returned from literally the most relaxing weekend of my entire life and if you ever just need a little TLC this is the place to go!

Kimi Ora Eco Resort is located up on the hill above Kaiteriteri which is a small beach town just over 60kms from Nelson, New Zealand. Being an eco resort they are minimising their impact on the environment as much as possible with the largest set of solar panels I have ever seen, a flourishing garden which they use for their vegetarian restaurant and recycling/ food waste bins in all of the rooms. You already feel like you’re doing a good thing just by arriving there.

As we walk in the door to reception to check in I immediately felt calm as I looked through the check in area and dining room to a superb view over the entire bay. Suzie, the receptionist,  then gave us our room key and told us that they would be ready for us in the spa for treatments we had pre booked after we had settled in. Our unit was part of what I can only describe as a big house in the woods and the top most part of the resort which was split into three seperate units- only downside here was that we were the bottom one and could hear the footsteps from the family above quite clearly. Aside from this, with floor to ceiling walls in the living area with one side looking out into the bush and the other into the bay we couldn’t complain one bit with the set up.

Heading down to the spa I didn’t really know what to expect as I am always a bit iffy of hotel spas as just an added money making scheme without a great customer experience. I couldn’t have been more wrong. I had pre booked a ‘Pamper Moi’ package which included a back, neck & shoulder massage, a facial and a leg and foot scrub and massage. WOW! My beautician took a look at my skin (which admittedly is all over the show at the moment) and personally designed a facial for me with a combination of different masks to target different issues something that I have never had done for me before. I work in an office all day hunched over a computer so my back wasn’t in the greatest shape but she targeted my problem areas and really worked out all of my knots which not only felt great but these last few days of work haven’t sent me home with a back thats killing me so thats got to be a bonus.

I followed up my afternoon with a dip in their heated pool and as I had been full of the flu during that weak well deserved sweat session in their steam room. But this was only after Suzie came to my rescue with a pair of togs I could borrow. What better service could I ask for? The great thing about Kimi Ora is that their facilities (pool etc) are open to the public at a small cost. Kaiteriteri is a huge summer destination and I can imagine taking an afternoon to visit the pools up at Kimi Ora would be just what you need after you have been living in your tent at the campground for weeks on end.

Now people closest to me know that I am a huge carnivore, its not something I am particularly proud of and its a goal of mine to cut my consumption, so when I saw the words vegetarian restaurant I went into panic mode. Boy was I pleasantly surprised when I didn’t miss the meat one little bit in my meal. I had a beautiful pumpkin ravioli something which I had never tried before and probably wouldn’t have had I not been put in this situation- you have to love finding a new food you adore!

After plenty of food and plenty of wine we tucked ourselves into our crisp white sheeted beds and slept like babies engulfed in the sound of the trees swaying around us and the light pitter patter of rain on the roof. I even slept with my curtains open just so I could wake the to the magnificent view.

After a wonderful slumber we went for a short morning pool session just to really make the most of it and then packed up the car to prepared to head on our way but before we did so we had to check out the complimentary buffet breakfast. I am a huge sucker for a buffet ( literally when we went to Singapore last year one of our activities was one of their famous weekend brunch buffets – but thats for another blog post) and anything that involves fresh croissants is right up my alley and albeit slightly smaller this buffet did not disappoint. They highlighted some of the area’s delectable treats with local peanut butters, jams, and cheeses as well as a good selection of cereals and breads.

After filling our bellies it was sadly time to say goodbye to this place we grew to love overnight but we left knowing that there was no way we weren’t going to make this place a regular family weekend away destination. Now I am not going to lie to you the price is a little steep than what most people would spend on a weekend away ($179 is the cheapest unit per night in the off season) but it is well worth it for a relaxing romantic getaway or a fun place to take the family- they also offer bike hiring, table tennis and bush walks etc which helps with the children entertainment.

If you’re visiting the Nelson/ Tasman region I highly recommend switching off and  immersing yourself in the beauty of this wonderful place!

Leave a Reply

